Alternatives

uBar alternatives, compared honestly

uBar has been a Dock replacement and taskbar for the Mac since 2009. For most of that time it had little company. That has changed: there are now several taskbar apps for macOS, a group of Dock replacements and Dock add-ons that take a different approach, and a few older tools whose users are looking for something that runs on a current Mac. Here is how they compare with uBar, including where the other app is the better choice.

Taskbar apps (the same category as uBar)

These three apps do what uBar does: put a Windows-style taskbar on your Mac. They are the closest alternatives, and the ones most people are choosing between.

Lawand Taskbar

The Lawand Taskbar is a Windows-style taskbar for macOS 10.13 and later, with thumbnails on hover, pinned apps, a start menu, grouping by app and one bar per screen. Version 1 is free and expires on 19 December 2026; version 2 is a one-time $25 purchase after a free trial.

It shows only the current Space. uBar shows every window, adds a dock mode and themes, and lets you turn grouping off entirely.

uBar vs the Lawand Taskbar

Inndevs Mac Taskbar

The Inndevs Mac Taskbar is a Windows-style taskbar for macOS 13.5 to 26.5 with Liquid Glass and Classic styles, up to four rows per display, per-display settings, combined tiles, media controls, Dock badge indicators and support for Chrome web-app windows. A license is $9.90 one-time with lifetime updates.

It requires macOS 13.5 or later, where uBar runs from macOS 10.13 through Tahoe. uBar also adds a dock mode and a wider set of themes.

uBar vs the Inndevs Mac Taskbar

boringBar

boringBar is a taskbar-style Dock replacement for macOS 14 and later that shows only the windows in the current Space, with a desktop switcher, a searchable app launcher, pinned apps and thumbnail previews. It launched in April 2026; a personal license is $29.99 one-time or $7.99 per year after a 14-day trial.

It is built around Spaces. uBar shows every window regardless of Space, gives every monitor its own bar, and can run as a dock instead of a taskbar.

uBar vs boringBar

Dock replacements and Dock add-ons (different approach)

These apps keep the Dock’s icon-first model, or add to the Dock rather than replacing it. If what you want is a better Dock rather than a taskbar, one of them may suit you better than uBar.

ExtraDock

ExtraDock adds extra docks alongside or instead of the native Dock, on any screen, floating or pinned, with widgets, Folder Stacks and custom colors and icons per dock. ExtraDock 5 requires macOS 26 Tahoe; ExtraDock 4 covers macOS 12 to 15.

It is a multi-dock utility and does not group windows. uBar is a single bar per monitor that lists windows by name.

uBar vs ExtraDock

ActiveDock

ActiveDock is a themed Dock replacement and launcher with window previews, a Start Menu and a click option to hide and show apps the way Windows does. Version 2.870 was released on 22 March 2026 for macOS 11.5 and later as a Universal binary; a single license is $19.99 one-time.

It keeps the Dock’s icon-first layout. uBar is a taskbar first, with labeled windows and grouping you control, and a dock mode second.

uBar vs ActiveDock

DockFix

DockFix replaces the macOS Dock with a customizable one: colors, animations, custom app icons, presets, widgets and hover window previews, for macOS 14 and later at €14.99 one-time. Version 4.0 launched on 7 July 2025; the latest cask release is 4.2.1 from April 2026.

It keeps the Dock’s icon-per-app layout and works on its look. uBar replaces the Dock with a taskbar that lists windows by name, with grouping and a bar on every monitor, or with a dock of its own.

DockFix alternative

DockDoor

DockDoor is open source. It adds hover window previews to the native Dock, an Alt-Tab-style switcher, window actions and Dock locking. Version 1.40.1 was released on 3 September 2026 for macOS 13 and later; it is free, and a separate DockDoor Pro app that replaces the Dock is $20 one-time.

It adds to the Dock rather than replacing it. uBar lists every window by name and gives each monitor its own bar.

DockDoor alternative

Other Dock replacements worth knowing about:

  • Docky: free and open source (GPLv3) since version 0.7.0, released 25 June 2026.
  • Dockish: a dock replacement, $6.99, macOS 14 and later.
  • MaxiDock: multiple docks, version 2.7.0 released June 2026, macOS 14.6 and later.
  • Better Dock: in beta, a dock on every monitor with previews; pricing not yet announced.

Discontinued apps people are replacing

Two Dock utilities from the Intel era still have users looking for a replacement. Neither runs natively on Apple Silicon, and neither has had a release since 2020.

HyperDock

HyperDock added window previews on Dock hover, iTunes control, calendar peek, window snapping and Dock shortcuts. Its last release, version 1.8, shipped in September 2018 for Intel 64-bit Macs only, at $9.95.

uBar is a Universal binary with a release in September 2026, and brings previews to a full taskbar on every monitor.

HyperDock alternative

cDock

cDock was a Dock theming and customization tool: themes, hiding apps and control over Dock behaviour. Its latest release, 4.5.0, shipped on 19 November 2020 for macOS 10.14 and later, requires System Integrity Protection to be disabled, and does not support M1 Macs.

uBar is a Dock replacement rather than a Dock theming tool, and it runs natively on Apple Silicon.

cDock alternative

Compare at a glance

Prices and versions are as of September 2026.

Feature uBarLawand TaskbarInndevs Mac TaskbarboringBarExtraDockActiveDockDockFixDockDoorHyperDockcDock
TypeTaskbar, or dockTaskbarTaskbarTaskbarMulti-dock (add-on or replacement)Dock replacementDock replacementDock add-onDock add-onDock customizer
Labeled windowsYesYes (titles can be hidden)Yes (window tiles, renameable)Yes (window title or app name)No (icons)No (icons)No (icons)No (native Dock)No (native Dock)No (native Dock)
Window groupingAlways, Never or AutomaticGroup by appCombined tilesGroup by appNoApp and document groups, not window groupingNot statedNo (native Dock)No (native Dock)No (native Dock)
Window previewsYesYes (thumbnails on hover)No (combined tiles open a window list)Yes (thumbnails)Not statedYesYes (on hover)YesYesNo
Bar on every monitorYes, plus Mirror modeYes (one per screen)Yes (per-display settings)Yes (per display, or mirrored)Docks on any screenNot statedNot statedNative Dock (can lock it to one display)Native DockNative Dock
Dock modeYesNo (taskbar only)No (taskbar only)No (taskbar only; can hide the Dock)Yes (it is a dock)Yes (it is a dock)Yes (its own dock)Native DockNative DockNative Dock
ThemesSystem, Light, Dark, Platinum Neue, Now Playing, CustomLight and dark, custom transparencyLiquid Glass; Classic with four themesNo (three bar sizes)Color themes and custom icons per dockYes (themes and icon sets)Presets, colors and custom iconsNo (styles the previews only)NoYes
Minimum macOS10.1310.1313.51426 (ExtraDock 5); 12 to 15 (ExtraDock 4)11.51413OS X 10.810.14, SIP disabled
Apple Silicon nativeYes (since 4.1.7)Yes (Universal)Yes (Universal)Not statedNot statedYes (Universal)Yes (Apple silicon and Intel)YesNo (Intel 64 only)No (no M1 support)
Last release4.2.4, 2 Sep 20261.6.3, 6 Sep 20262.4, 25 Aug 2026Not published4.3.13, 3 Sep 20262.870, 22 Mar 20264.2.1, 7 Apr 20261.40.1, 3 Sep 20261.8, Sep 20184.5.0, 19 Nov 2020
Pricing modelOne-time, 14-day trialv1 free until 19 Dec 2026; v2 one-time after trialOne-time with lifetime updates; free version with remindersOne-time (one year of updates) or yearly subscription, 14-day trialOne-time; standard licenses include one year of updates from 1 Sep 2026One-time; single license includes one year of updatesOne-time, 7-day trialFree; Pro is one-timeOne-timeOne-time; paid major upgrades
Price$30 personal, $50 commercialv1 free; v2 $25$9.90$29.99 (two Macs) or $7.99/yearFrom $14.99/year; lifetime $27.90 per Mac; Forever Edition $69.90$19.99 (one Mac); $59.99 lifetime (three Macs)€14.99Free; Pro $20 (three Macs)$9.95From $9.99

Frequently asked questions

Is uBar free?

No. uBar has a 14-day free trial, then a one-time purchase: $30 for a personal license covering two Macs, or $50 for a commercial license. There is no subscription.

Which is the best taskbar for Mac?

It depends on what you want from it. If you want a bar on every monitor and the option to run it as a dock instead, uBar. If you want a Liquid Glass look and tiles for Chrome web-app windows, the Inndevs Mac Taskbar. If you work Space by Space and want the bar to follow, boringBar. If you want a free option, Lawand Taskbar version 1 until 19 December 2026, or Docky.

Are any of these apps free?

Lawand Taskbar version 1 is free until 19 December 2026. DockDoor is free, with a separate paid DockDoor Pro app. Docky is free and open source. The Inndevs Mac Taskbar runs without a license but shows purchase reminders. The rest are paid.

Is there a free alternative to uBar?

Lawand Taskbar version 1 is free until it expires on 19 December 2026, DockDoor is free and adds previews to the native Dock, and Docky is free and open source. uBar itself has a 14-day free trial before the one-time purchase.

Does uBar work on macOS Tahoe and Apple Silicon?

Yes. uBar 4.2.4, released in September 2026, supports macOS Tahoe. It is a Universal binary that runs natively on Apple Silicon, and it supports every macOS release from 10.13 High Sierra through Tahoe.

Bring your taskbar with you.

14-day free trial. One-time purchase of $30. No subscription.